Renegade

Renegade (noun)– a person who deserts and betrays an organization, country, religion, or set of principles

(adjective)– having deserted a faith or cause; having rejected tradition

This morning I woke up to the song Renegades by X Ambaasadors playing on my radio alarm. It could’ve been the greatest hit (and it wasn’t), and I would still find the song that interrupted my sleep incredibly annoying. I strapped on my backpack and ran to work as usual. I’ve been listening to Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova. As I reached the JFK bridge, the word “renegade” came up again; this time as an adjective. The novel’s protagonist Joe O’Brien is a Boston police. Being on overtime duty outside of Fenway, he finds himself wishing the Sox would lose so that he could go home to his family. That was his renegade thought.

One word. Two parts of speech. One day.

Leave a Reply

