Sequins vs. Sequence

sequins

Sequin (noun)– a small piece of shiny metal or plastic that is sewn onto clothes as a decoration

Being part nerd, I learned the word “sequence” in math class before hearing it, say while taking notes on the Golden Globe red carpet fashion trends on TV. “Sequins” are often used in plural form; I thought for a long time that it is spelled the same way as “sequence” until I saw the former in writing. Synonyms for sequins include spangles, paillettes, and diamantes. For the reason that I’d like to say I know more about one than the other, I’ll keep the two words separate for now.

Winner: Sequins

Leave a Reply

