Derriere

peaches

Derriere (noun)– euphemistic term for a person’s buttocks

To explain how I came across this word, I have to admit to an embarrassing guilty pleasure of mine. Many people drown themselves in coffee or crush energy drinks to help them stay focused on studying or getting work done. I listen to the most annoying catchy pop songs on ListenOnRepeat. I’d stick with one song and listen to it over and over again until it loses its magic when I become sick of it. From Meghan Trainor’s “All About That Bass” to “Gooey” by Glass Animals to anything from Taylor Swift, I’ve repeated them well over 50 times. I also went through a Jay Chou phase and listened to most of his earlier works. Usually the more I was unwilling to admit to listening to a song in fear of judgement from others, the more that song helps me be productive. Britney Spears’ “Piece of Me” was like a dose of Adderall last week. The lyrics start like this:

I’m Miss American Dream since I was 17
Don’t matter if I step on the scene
Or sneak away to the Philippines
They’re still gonna put pictures of my derriere in the magazine
You want a piece of me?
You want a piece of me…

One thought on “Derriere

Leave a Reply

