Spout

coffee
Cucumber doesn’t usually accompany Turkish coffee but is an added touch by my friend Sarah

Spout (noun)– a tube, lip, or hole out of which a liquid flows from a container

(verb)– send out liquid forcibly in a steam; to speak or utter readily, volubly, and at length

A trip to Jordan isn’t complete without many cups of tea. Typically black, Jordanian tea has lots of sugar and some herbs or spices depending on the season. Sage and thyme are served all year round while mint is generally in the summer and cinnamon in the winter. I’ve seen tea with a slice of lemon but was told that it isn’t traditionally Jordanian.

Coffee is equally ubiquitous in Jordan and occasionally just as sweet. Ways to describe different sugar levels are: Sada- no sugar, tahat wasat or reehat suker- just a hint, and wasat– medium. For the sake of my teeth, I’ll delay learning how to say lots of sugar.

The one thing I brought back from Jordan was coffee beans with cardamom in hopes of recreating the Turkish coffee that I enjoyed. I followed the brewing instructions online. I found that it was a fine line between reehat suker and wasat. Determined to get it right, I attempted a second try using a small spoutless pot since the vessel from my first attempt still sat in the kitchen sink. Based on what made into the cup, the second batch was an improvement. Foreseeing an endeavor to make great coffee and a lack of advancement in my pouring skills, I’d say an ibrik starts to look like a smart investment.

One thought on “Spout

Leave a Reply

