Look a Gift Horse in the Mouth

horsemouth

Look a gift horse in the mouth (idiom)– unappreciatively questioning of a gift; “beggars can’t be choosers”

Spring is here, although I wouldn’t put it past New England to have a snow shower in May. I’ve always liked winters. Running along the Charles is much more pleasant and peaceful with fewer people on the sidewalk. However, I often don’t realize how winter weather has an effect on my mood until I find myself feeling more lighthearted when the sun shines with warmth in a clear blue sky.

When I first moved into my apartment, the previous tenant left me a portable lamp. It emits artificial sunlight to treat Seasonal Affective Disorder. It didn’t particularly appeal to me, but I wanted to see how it works. I was complaining about a defective part of the device when my boyfriend commented, “don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.” At first I thought he said “gift whore” and that one shouldn’t be too picky or insistent on choosing someone with all perfect features. After his explanation, I understood that one can gauge a horse’s age by inspecting the length of the teeth. The phrase means to not be ungrateful by questioning a gift.

Leave a Reply

