Precipice

IMG_1143
Acadia National Park

Precipice (noun)- a very steep or overhanging place; a hazardous situation

I have to admit that the title of this post is misleading. Although I learned the word “precipice” when I visited Acadia National Park in Maine. I’ve actually never hiked the Precipice Trail. The most well known and challenging trail is often closed from late spring to mid-August for it is the nesting site of peregrine falcons. After my fifth and most recent trip to Acadia, I summarized the trails that I’ve done as follow. Photographer and hiker Joe Braun has a website on more trails and in greater detail.

Acadia Mountain Trail– One of the lesser traveled mountains on Mount Desert Island. Most of the descent overlooks Somes Sound. According to Joe, Acadia Mountain is oddly the only peak on the island that runs east-west rather than north-south. For a longer hike, connect it with St. Sauveur Mountain.

Beech Mountain Trail– My family from Taiwan and host family from college did this one together on a very foggy day. We took Valley Trail and South Ridge Trail up to the lookout tower. Although we did not have open views of Long Pond, the fog gave our entire hike a mystical quality.

Beehive Trail & The Bowl– The Beehive, also known as the Little Precipice for it is also built by Rudolph Brunnow, is a very popular trail. The views are stunning while the downsides are the exposure and crowds. Nestled behind the Beehive, the Bowl is a small pond.

The Bubbles– The Bubbles can be reached from either Jordan Pond Path or Park Loop Road. The legendary Bubble Rock is located on South Bubble.

Gorham Mountain Trail– After the ascent on the Beehive, my family and I descended gradually on Gorham Mountain Trail. Because of its modest elevation, this trail is particularly popular with young families.

Great Head Trail– Close to Sand Beach, this trail loop is short and easy. My sister and I took the wrong turn and lost our parents during this hike. We ended up reuniting with each other at where we parked the car. Always a good idea to designate a meeting place ahead of time.

Jordan Pond– The trail that loops around Jordan Pond is super flat and easy. Its western side has elevated boardwalk for protecting the surrounding wetlands. Jordan Pond House is famous for its popovers and tea.

Ladder Trail– Earlier this year when we wanted to attempt the Precipice Trail and were turned away by the nesting falcons, we did Ladder Trail to Dorr Mountain instead. It might not be as thrilling as the Precipice or the Beehive, but it is certainly less crowded.

Ocean Path– This non-strenuous trail starts at Sand Beach and ends at Otter Point with Park Loop Road on one side and the Atlantic Ocean on the other. I thought Thunder Hole was cool but over-hyped.

I look forward to returning to Mount Desert Island and try out new trails, including the Precipice. Credit for most of the photos here goes to my sister. Thanks, Ping!

Leave a comment