In the Nick of Time

time

In the Nick of Time (idiom)- at the last possible instant; just before it’s too late

It’s that time of year again! No, I’m not talking about pumpkin spice lattes or apple-picking. I’m in the crunch time of studying, five weeks from my fall actuarial exam. Predictably, I’m using my guilty pleasure to stay focused (see Derriere)- finding a catchy pop song to listen on repeat.

Last week on Slate Money, the hosts discussed how Taylor Swift tackled the issue of ticket scalping. According to Rollingstone, scalpers often use advanced technology like bots to snatch up 30-50% of tickets to high-demand shows then resell them at a higher price. Many artists have tried ways to verify fans to ensure tickets are sold directly to the people who intend to attend the event. Taylor Swifts’ plan has a twist: fans can increase their chances of scoring tickets by tweeting about her new album, streaming her videos, downloading her music, and purchasing her merchandise. Critics argue that punishing scalpers is a clever public-relation move to hide the profit motive. Proponents believe the plan will reward hardcore fans.

Regardless of the controversy, I found myself listening to Taylor Swift’s “Look What You Made Me Do” when I needed a new catchy song this week. “In the nick of time” appeared in the lyrics. Originated in the 16th century, the idea seemed to have been that a nick was a narrow and precise marker; if something was in the nick, it was precisely where it should be, kind of like “on the dot.”

When googling the song and the idiom, I came across another video- characters on Game of Thrones singing Taylor Swift’s song. I highly recommend listening to a few minutes of the original first, then watch the GOT version. So much for keeping me focused on studying.

2 thoughts on “In the Nick of Time

Leave a comment